Newport Beach Domestic Violence Attorneys
Experienced Orange County Criminal Defense Lawyers
Most district attorney offices in Orange County, California have special units that are dedicated to prosecuting charges and allegations of domestic violence. When convicted of domestic violence, a person will usually face incarceration. After they serve their time, the convicted often suffer from a damaged reputation in their community. If you are facing any domestic violence charges, call Corrigan Welbourn Stokke, APLC to represent you.
Our attorneys have dedicated their careers to criminal defense. As former prosecutors, we know the strategies that the state uses and will build a strong defense for your case. With over 100 years of combined experience, our team will fight to make sure your rights are respected and your voice is heard.
Call our Newport Beach domestic violence attorneys today at (949) 251-0330 for a free consultation.
Innocent People Get Accused
Many times, innocent individuals are wrongly accused of domestic violence. Throughout Orange County, an accuser will make a false allegation of domestic violence out of spite. Often, the accuser will allege domestic violence to gain an in-court advantage for divorce or child custody proceedings. Other times, simple accidents are misconstrued as domestic violence situations. The domestic violence attorneys at Corrigan Welbourn Stock know that you deserve the benefit of the doubt, and we will ensure your story is heard.
California Domestic Penalties
California law treats domestic violence uniquely because it involves family members. The crime is treated as specialized assault and can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. Though less serious than felonies, misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail. When domestic violence is charged as assault, longer prison sentences are a possibility.
General California domestic violence penalties include:
- As much as $6,000 in fines
- One year in county jail
- Up to 4 years in state prison
- Restraining orders
- Loss of child custody
- Punitive damages
- 52-week rehabilitation class
Worst of all, a California domestic violence conviction goes on one’s permanent criminal record and will surface anytime they’re subject to a routine background check. This can make it difficult to gain employment, housing, professional licensing, and other benefits. It is imperative to hire an experienced and aggressive Orange County Criminal Defense Attorney from Corrigan Welbourn Stokke to protect your future.
Contact our domestic violence attorneys in Orange County today at (949) 251-0330 to speak with a member of our legal team.