Newport Beach Arson Defense Attorneys
California Arson Laws
The state of California treats arson as a serious crime. With its dry weather, an abundance of natural lands, and rural areas, the state has arson laws that are designed to harshly punish anyone caught in the act of starting fires. If you have been accused of arson, you are facing serious penalties and require the help of an experienced arson defense attorney.
Corrigan Welbourn Stokke, APLC is one of the premier criminal defense firms in the Orange County area. Our Newport Beach arson attorneys are dedicated to defending the rights of clients and building strong cases that protect their futures. We understand that innocent individuals are sometimes accused of terrible things, so we can fight to ensure that your side of the story is heard in court.
To speak with a member of our Newport Beach defense team, call (949) 251-0330 today. Consultation is free, and we are ready to begin the fight for your rights.
California Arson Crimes
California has a range of penalties for arson that fluctuate based on the circumstances of the alleged act. The most important factors taken into consideration by California’s arson laws is the intent of a person accused of arson and if anyone was harmed by the fire. Notably, harm can include death, injury, or property damage. However, a person can be charged with arson even if they did not mean to start a fire.
Aggravated arson is a more serious crime and is charged when an individual sets fire with the intent to cause harm to others. Aggravated arson is also charged if an individual has been convicted of arson within the last 10 years or if the fire caused damage of at least $6.5 million.
Attempted Arson & Arson of Property
If a person is accused of attempting arson or setting fire to the property of someone else, they face up to 3 years in prison.
Arson Causing Damage to Forest Land or Structures
This felony is punishable by up to 6 years in prison.
Arson Causing Damage to Inhabited Areas
This crime is charged as a serious felony and places a person at risk of up to 8 years in prison.
Arson Causing Great Bodily Injury
When someone is injured by arson, a person could be facing up to 9 years in prison.
Aggravated arson is a very serious crime and carries a maximum sentence of life in prison.
Charged with Arson? Contact Our Attorneys Today!
If you are facing accusations of arson, your future is at stake. In California, arson is often charged as a felony and, even if you serve time and pay all penalties, it will follow you for the rest of your life.
Our experienced Newport Beach arson attorneys are ready to fight for your rights in court. We will protect your future by fighting to have your charges lowered or, in the best circumstance, completely dropped. Results are not guaranteed.
However, hiring experienced lawyers helps make sure that every option is taken to protect your future. We know that the criminal justice system is intimidating and will make ourselves available to you 24/7 so your concerns will always being addressed.
Call today at (949) 251-0330 for a free case evaluation. Our seasoned Orange County criminal defense lawyers are ready to start building a defense on your behalf.