Accomplished Orange County Defense Firm
Available 24/7 to Answer Your Call 949-251-0330
Back to Top

New Laws Taking Effect in California in 2020

January 1, 2020, ushered in a new year and a new decade. Additionally, many new laws in California took effect, including several involving the state’s criminal justice system. 

The following are some of the new California criminal laws in 2020: 

  • Domestic violence – SB 273 extends the statute of limitations to report domestic violence to the police to five years. Not only does this new law apply to domestic violence cases on January 1, 2020, but also current cases where the statue to limitations hasn’t expired yet. 

  • Childhood sexual assault – AB 218 suspends the three-year statute of limitations for childhood sexual abuse, which means victims of all ages can seek prosecution. Furthermore, victims can file civil lawsuits until they turn 40 years of age or five years from the date the abuse was discovered. 

  • Firearm-related restraining orders – On September 1, AB 12 allows teachers, employers, and coworkers to petition the court to confiscate a person’s guns if they appear to be a danger to themselves or others. 

  • Juvenile crimes – Minors who are at least 12 years old can be sent to juvenile hall. Any child under 12 would be released to their parent/guardian. However, the law doesn’t apply to minors accused of murder, rape, or any crime resulting in serious injury. 

If you have been accused of a crime in Newport Beach or Orange County, no matter how serious the allegations against you are, our legal team at Corrigan Welbourn Stokke, APLC is ready to fight for you. Our former prosecutors have more than 100 years of combined experience guiding our clients through the local court system. Do not hesitate to let us protect your rights and freedom immediately. 

Contact our firm today at (949) 251-0330 and request a free case evaluation.